Return to Listings

Benyounes Quartet with Julian Bliss 13th Mar 2017 at the Library Theatre Map

Alongside works by Germaine Tailleferre and Claude Debussy, the Benyounes Quartet return to Luton to play the Brahms Clarinet Quintet. Inspired by the playing of clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld, the 57 year old Brahms came out of retirement to write this quintet. With its autumnal mood it is unquestionably one of the glories of the instrument’s repertoire. Young virtuoso Julian Bliss is in demand all over the world in this magical late work and this is a special opportunity to welcome him back to the area where he grew up.

Claude Debussy – String Quartet in G minor Op.10 (25’)

Germaine Tailleferre – String Quartet (10’)

Johannes Brahms – Clarinet Quintet in B minor Op.115 (35’)



Zara Benyounes - violin

Emily Holland - violin

Tetsuumi Nagata - viola

Kim Vaughan - cello

Julian Bliss - clarinet

(Photography - Ben Wright)