Return to Listings

Berkeley Ensemble with Simon Callaghan   27th Mar 2017 at the Library Theatre Map

The President’s Recital

Our season finishes with The President’s Recital. Radio 3’s Petroc Trelawny has invited back regular favourites the Berkeley Ensemble with guest pianist Simon Callaghan, in a sparkling programme. Louise Farrenc was a contemporary of Beethoven’s (and much admired by him) and her engaging Clarinet Trio is joined by the world première of Helen Roe’s DNA Fragments. The second half of our final concert ends, as our series began, with Schubert. The climax of a season featuring several of the Viennese composer’s master works, it is devoted to the much-loved Trout Quintet.

Louise Farrenc – Trio for Clarinet, Cello & Piano (26’)

Helen Roe – New Work DNA Fragments (15’)

Franz Schubert – Piano Quintet in A – The Trout D667 (40’)

Simon Callaghan - piano