Other Concerts:

Full List

Berkeley Ensemble                           24th Feb  Luton Sixth Form College  Map

Regular visitors to our concerts here in Luton, members of the highly sought after Berkeley Ensemble return with Olivier Messiaen’s haunting Quartet for the End of Time. Premièred in 1941, it was written whilst Messiaen was a prisoner of war in Germany. The programme will also include new works by A level composition students from Luton Sixth Form College.

‘And the angel which I saw stand upon the sea and upon the earth lifted up his hand to heaven, and sware by him that liveth for ever and ever... the mystery of God should be finished.’

Book of Revelation

‘…the high quality of the performances by the Berkeley Ensemble, a malleable group which plays as if it were truly inside the music.’

Sunday Telegraph



Olivier Messiaen – Quartet for the End of Time

Gemma Wareham (cello)

John Slack (clarinet)

Sophie Mather (violin)

Richard Sisson (piano)