Othe Concerts:

Full List

Karel Bredenhorst, & Simon Callaghan      Cancelled - to be re-scheduled 2021         Map

Karel Bredenhorst and Simon Callaghan return to Luton in the first of a series of three concerts including all five of Beethoven's sonatas for cello and piano. These great classics of the chamber repertoire, presented as part of our celebrations for the 250th anniversary of the composer's birth, will be presented in mixed programmes. This first recital places Beethoven’s virtuosic early G minor sonata in the context of the Baroque discipline of J S Bach and the Romanticism of Chopin and Rachmaninov. This exhilarating programme will be a wonderful way to re-introduce us to the joy of live music once more and the amazing skill of the players will surely prove irresistible.

‘…utmost elegance and an exemplary controlled piano sound.’

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Johann Sebastian Bach – Sonata for Viola da Gamba and Harpsichord No.2 in D BWV 1028

Ludwig van Beethoven – Sonata in G minor Op 5 No.2

Frederic Chopin – Polonaise in C Op 3 (arr. Feuermann)

Sergei Rachmaninov – Sonata in G minor Op 19

Karel Bredenhorst (cello)



Simon Callaghan (piano)

Other Concerts/Talks

Full List