Other Concerts:

Full List

DeNote                                 9th August 2021 Venue St. Augustine’s Church Map

A chance to hear the authentic voice of the period fortepiano. As we reflect on the past year’s celebration of Beethoven, it is fascinating to hear the instrument in whose image much of his earliest keyboard writing would have been conceived.

Period specialist John Irving, Professor of Historical Performance at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, plays Beethoven’s C minor sonata, the Pathétique, on an instrument especially brought into Luton for the recital. He will also perform Haydn’s sparkling set of F minor variations, both works illustrating how such writing began to demand so much more from the keyboards of the day.

He will be joined by period clarinettist Jane Booth in other works of the period by Vanhal and Mozart. The latter’s Grand Sonate is an authentic version of the clarinet quintet, the string parts now intriguingly presented with the transparent colours of the fortepiano.

Irving’s performances are balanced and exquisitely judged, with moments of high drama.’  Presto Classical



Jan Vanhal – Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in B flat

Ludwig van Beethoven – Sonata in C minor Pathétique Op 13

Franz Josef Haydn – Variations in F minor Hob.XVII:6

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Grand Sonate K581

Jane Booth (clarinet)

John Irving (fortepiano)

B&W Poster for download/print