Other Concerts:

Full List

Dvořák Piano Quartet               22nd Jan 2018 at Luton Sixth Form College Map

Slávka Vernerová-Pěchočová returns after her solo recital earlier in the season with further works from Eastern Europe. After the classical elegance of the Mozart quartet this Prague based ensemble offer a piece written by Czech-born composer Karel Janovický who has been settled here in England for many years. From a considerable catalogue of some 200 compositions, written in 2015 this is the mature work of a fully developed composer. The concert will end with Dvořák’s second piano quartet. Here is how Dvořák described the process of writing it to his friend Alois Göbl in the summer of 1889:
Do you want to know what I'm doing? My head is full of it. If only one could write it immediately! But it's no use, I have to go slowly, only what the hand can manage and the Lord God will grant the rest of it. Now I have again already three movements of a new quartet with piano completely ready and the finale will be finished in several days. It's going unexpectedly easily and melodies are coming to me in droves. Thanks be to God!

Antonín Dvořák

There will be a pre-concert talk, starting at 7pm, with composer Karel Janovický to discuss the provenance of his Piano Quartet and to offer insights into his relationship with the Czechoslovakia of Eastern Europe and his childhood there in the 1940s.

Mozart – G minor Piano Quartet K478

Karel Janovický – Piano Quartet

Antonín Dvořák – Piano Quartet No.2 in E flat op 87

Slávka Vernerová-Pěchočová (piano)   

Štěpán Pražák (violin)

Petr Verner (viola)

Jan Žďánský (cello)



This concert is generously supported by Dr. Mark Agius.