Return to Listings

Piatti Quartet with Simon Callaghan  6th Mar 2017 at the Library Theatre Map

The third visit of our principal guest artist for the season, Simon Callaghan. Joining the prize-winning Piatti Quartet together they offer the rhapsodic piano quintets of Amy Beach and César Franck. This last work caused something of a sensation at its première. The composer’s rather demure wife was altogether discomfited by the surging passions of its first movement, whilst Saint-Saëns declared himself disgusted by such a brazen and earthy display! Brace yourselves Luton for an exceptional evening of chamber music...

Amy Beach – Piano Quintet (28’)

Freya Waley-Cohen – New Commission (7’)

Cesar Franck – Piano Quintet (39’)



Nathaniel Anderson-Frank - violin

Michael Trainor - violin

David Wigram - viola

Jessie Ann Richardson - cello

Simon Callaghan - piano