Other Concerts:

Full List

Piatti String Quartet          15th November 2021 Venue St. Augustine’s Church Map

The Piatti Quartet return to Luton with a programme made up of music which, at the time of its composition, was quite simply the finest chamber music being written.


Purcell’s Chacony, probably composed in his early twenties, is an essay in controlled melodic and harmonic development, increasingly imaginative lines spun out from the most modest of initial ideas. In perhaps a similar way Ravel takes as his starting point the conventional form of the string quartet and in turn subjects it to re-imaginings and sleights of hand that transform it into a work of great originality. Mendelssohn’s final quartet, his last major work, was composed after the sudden death of his beloved and highly talented sister Fanny. Hear this deeply felt music wrested off the page by this exceptional young quartet.

‘…a young ensemble at its finest…To Mendelssohn’s final quartet, the F minor, this splendid young ensemble brought lyrical warmth and a gripping urgency.’
The Evening Standard



Henry Purcell – Chacony

Maurice Ravel – String Quartet in F

Felix Mendelssohn – Quartet in F minor Op 80

Rebecca Chan – violin

Michael Trainor – violin

Tetsuumi Negata – viola

Jessie Ann Richardson – cello

B&W Poster for download/print