Return to Listings

Pity of War

Three great elegiac classics for violin and piano duo performed by one of Britain’s leading violinists Matthew Trusler and the distinguished pianist Martin Roscoe. BBC Radio 3’s Petroc Trelawny will read inspirational poems by Wilfred Owen. Moral courage and humanity triumphing over the global conflict that took warfare to new levels of horror.

Claude Debussy – Sonata for Violin & Piano (1917)

Edward Elgar – Sonata for Violin & Piano (1918)

Leoš Janáček – Sonata for Violin & Piano (1914)

With the poetry of Wilfred Owen

Matthew Trusler - Violin

Martin Roscoe - Piano

Petroc Trelawny - Reader