Return to Listings

Pomegranate Trio                  30th Jan 2017 at the Library Theatre Map

Continuing our initiative to highlight the work of female composers – Half the World – this concert showcases Clara Schumann’s Piano Trio from 1846 and Piobaireachd, a more recent work by Sally Beamish, inspired by the Pibroch, an ancient classical tune of the Scottish bagpipe. The programme finishes with the early 1854 trio by Johannes Brahms, begun at the age of 21, an undertaking interrupted by the news of the attempted suicide of Clara Schumann’s husband, the composer Robert. 35 years after the turbulent conception of the work he revised it, claiming, “I didn’t provide it with a new wig, just combed and arranged its hair a little”. The revisions were in fact the effort of a composer still at the peak of his powers and the result is one of his greatest chamber works.

Clara Schumann – Piano Trio (28’)

Sally Beamish – Piobaireachd (10’)

Johannes Brahms – Piano Trio in B Op.8 (30’)



Fenella Barton - violin

Rebecca Hepplewhite - cello

Andrew West - piano